Difference between Level I and standard fingerprint clearance card

In 2009, a new law went into effect that created two types of fingerprint clearance cards rather than just one type. Beginning on July 1, 2009, DPS began issuing Level I fingerprint clearance cards, in addition to the standard fingerprint clearance cards. There are more types of criminal charges that can cause a Level I card to be denied or suspended, so the Level I card is more restrictive and harder to get. Standard cards correspond, for the most part, with the fingerprint clearance card that existed prior to the legislative changes.

Level I cards are required for the following professions or activities. (Also listed are the state agencies that regulate that profession or activity.) If your profession or activity is not listed below, then either a Level I card or a standard card will suffice.

  • Adoption, Department of Economic Security (DES)
  • Board of Fingerprinting members and employees
  • Child care group home employees, Department of Health Services (DHS)
  • Child care group home licensees, DHS
  • Child care home providers, DES
  • Child care employees, DHS
  • Child care facility licensees, DHS
  • Child Protective Services (CPS) employee, DES
  • Day care home providers, DES
  • DES contractors
  • Developmental-home licensure, DES
  • Division of Developmental Disabilities employees, DES
  • Foster-home licensure, DES
  • DES information-technology employees
  • Non-CPS employees, DES
  • In certain circumstances, individuals who hold fingerprint clearance cards that were issued prior to July 1, 2009, can use those fingerprint clearance cards in place of a Level I card.
Document Type