

ARIZONA BOARD OF FINGERPRINTING

Mail Code 185 • Post Office Box 6129 • Phoenix, Arizona 85005-6129 Telephone (602) 322-8590 • Fax (602) 322-8594

Final Minutes for Public Meeting

Held September 6, 2005, at 8:00 a.m. 2222 West Encanto Blvd., Suite 350, Phoenix, Arizona

Board Members

Mike LeHew, Department of Economic Security, Chair Kim Pipersburgh, Department of Health Services, Vice Chair Alvin Vasicek, Administrative Office of the Courts Lisette Flores, Department of Education Arthur W. Baker, Department of Juvenile Corrections

Executive Director

Dennis Seavers

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Mr. LeHew called the meeting to order at 3:20 p.m. and conducted a roll call. The following board members were present: Mike LeHew, Kim Pipersburgh, and Alvin Vasicek. The following board members were absent: Lisette Flores and Arthur W. Baker.

CALL TO THE PUBLIC

Mr. LeHew made a call to the public. There were no members of the public present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Without objection, Mr. LeHew tabled the approval of minutes until the Board's next meeting.

ELECTIONS

Mr. LeHew called for nominations for Board Vice Chair. Mr. LeHew nominated Ms. Pipersburgh for the office. Mr. LeHew called for nominations for Board Chair. Mr. Vasicek nominated Mr. LeHew for the office.

Ms. Pipersburgh made a motion to delay voting on the nominations until the Board's next meeting, and Mr. Vasicek seconded. The motion passed, 3-0.

CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES REPORTS

Mr. LeHew explained that the Board, through legislative changes, might be able to access the Department of Economic Security portal for Child Protective Services ("CPS") investigations. The Board would then be able to see whether good cause exception applicants had any contact with CPS. Mr. LeHew referred the Board members to a letter drafted by Mr. Seavers and addressed to CPS.

Ms. Pipersburgh made a motion to authorize Mr. Seavers to send the letter regarding possible legislation to access CPS records, and Mr. Vasicek seconded. The motion passed, 3-0.

ADJOURNMENT

Ms. Pipersburgh made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Mr. Vasicek seconded. The motion passed, 3-0. Mr. LeHew adjourned the meeting at 3:29 p.m.

Minutes approved on May 19, 2006

Dennis Seavers, Executive Director