

ARIZONA BOARD OF FINGERPRINTING

Mail Code 185 • Post Office Box 6129 • Phoenix, Arizona 85005-6129 Telephone (602) 322-8590 • Fax (602) 322-8594

Final Minutes for Public Meeting

Held December 15, 2006, at 8:30 a.m. 2222 West Encanto Blvd., Suite 350, Phoenix, Arizona

Board Members

Mike LeHew, Department of Economic Security, Chair Kim Pipersburgh, Department of Health Services, Vice Chair Rand Rosenbaum, Administrative Office of the Courts Charles Easaw, Department of Education Arthur W. Baker, Department of Juvenile Corrections

Executive Director

Dennis Seavers

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Mr. LeHew called the meeting to order at 10:36 a.m. The following Board members were present: Mike LeHew, Kim Pipersburgh, Rand Rosenbaum, Charles Easaw, and Arthur W. Baker. No Board members were absent.

CALL TO THE PUBLIC

Mr. LeHew made a call to the public. There were no members of the public present.

LEGISLATION

Mr. LeHew explained to the other Board members that the legislative proposal it approved on December 1, 2006, did not include a change that he thought should be made. Under current law, A.R.S. § 41–1758.03(C)(55) includes the following among the offenses that cause the denial or

suspension of a fingerprint clearance card: "A criminal offense involving organized crime and fraud under title 13, chapter 23." Mr. LeHew suggested amending the listing so that it would state the following: "Any criminal offense under title 13, chapter 23." He stated that this change would incorporate a few additional offenses that are not currently precluding offenses because they do not involve organized crime and fraud. Three of the offenses would be computer-related crimes. Mr. LeHew said that his department felt that this change was important because information-technology employees of the Department of Economic Security are required to have a fingerprint clearance card.

Mr. Baker moved to direct the executive director to seek legislative changes to amend the statute as Mr. LeHew described. Ms. Pipersburgh seconded, and the motion passed, 5-0.

ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Baker made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Ms. Pipersburgh seconded. The motion passed, 5-0. Mr. LeHew adjourned the meeting at 10:41 a.m.

Minutes approved on January 26, 2007
Dennis Seavers, Executive Director